RSS

Open Source Sermon (Wednesday, August 19)

19 Aug

The captivating verse of chapter 7 is verse 25, where the author writes, “Therefore, Jesus is able to save completely those who come to God through Him, because He always lives to intercede for them.”

This idea of Jesus praying for us is also taught in Romans 8.34 (“Who is he who condemns? Christ Jesus, who died–more than that, who was raised to life–is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us.”) and in 1 John 2.1 (“My dear children, I write this to you so that you will not sin. But if anybody does sin, we have one who speaks to the Father in our defense–Jesus Christ, the Righteous One.”

We find the idea in the Old Testament as it spoke of the coming Messiah in Isaiah 53.12 (“…because he poured out His life unto death and was numbered with the transgressors. For he bore the sin of many and made intercession for the transgressors.”)

At least twice, we see the intercessory ministry of Jesus displayed in the gospels. In Luke 22 we read these words:

“Simon, Simon, Satan has asked to sift you as wheat. But I have prayed for you, Simon, that your faith may not fail. And when you have turned back, strengthen your brothers.” (Luke 22.31-32)

We also find Jesus praying for His disciples, and us,  in the High Priestly prayer of John 17. Almost the entire chapter is Jesus interceding on our behalf, but to give you a small sampling:

“My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me.” (John 17.20-21)

Of course, the Trinitarian questions are mind boggling. For instance, why does Jesus need to pray to the Father? Why can’t the Son of God, who is the Creator and Sustainer of all things, simply help those for whom He is praying all by Himself? If the Son wants to forgive us, then why doesn’t the Father? Aren’t the Father and Son one? And since the Spirit is also praying for us (see Romans 8.26), isn’t the Father outnumbered?

But I leave you with this question: what is Jesus praying for and why does Jesus need to continually pray for us when His sacrifice for us was “once and for all” (Hebrews 10.10)?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 19, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Open Source Sermon (Wednesday, August 19)

  1. Casey Gordon

    August 19, 2009 at 10:09 am

    I feel a little bit out of my league here, but I thought I’d give this a go. When I think of “being one” with another, I think of the closest form of intimacy. And what would intimacy be without communication? Part of Jesus’s role here was to give us an example to live by, which is why I think the Bible teaches us about His prayers. Why does He pray for us? Because we are who He cares about. He doesn’t need to – He wants to.

     

Leave a comment