RSS

Open Source Sermon (Wednesday, August 12)

12 Aug

Last week’s text was the great warning passage of Hebrews 6.4-12, where the author continued to encourage the readers to “go on to maturity” (6.1), to not become lazy (6.12), and to show diligence in making their hope sure (6.11). If you recall, at the beginning of the sermon, I framed the discussion with the four words: preservation (God keeps the saved to the end), perseverance (the saved continue in their faith and fruit bearing until the end), assurance (we can know that we have eternal life), and apostasy (the departure of the faith from those who profess to be believers). I said that our ability to understand the warning of 6.4-12 depended upon our ability to hold all four truths in tension.

The warning text of 6.4-12 focused more on the perseverance/apostasy coupling of the four words. But immediately afterwards, the author emphasizes the preservation/assurance pair in 6.13-20. He moved from “make your hope sure” (6.11) to “we have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure” (6.19). I have been meditating this week on how our hope can be both firm and secure and also be something that I need to make sure. At this moment, I think the answer lies in the “unchanging nature of God’s purpose” (6.17).

The question of the day is: “What is the unchanging purpose of God’s nature” and how does knowing/embracing/experiencing this unchanging purpose relate to the hope we have taken hold of?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 12, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Open Source Sermon (Wednesday, August 12)

  1. iluv2hunt59

    August 12, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    His love for all of us!

     
  2. iluv2hunt59

    August 12, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    By knowing this it makes me feel good that someone loves me faults and all. Which makes me in turn want do what the Father ask of me and love others as He loves me. As I embrace it each day it fills me with so much joy wanting to never let go and to allow the Father’s Son Jesus to live through me and to do what He asks so He can live through me. As I do this He does what He promise’s and my faith grows more each day ensuring me, that He is indeed alive, hears me and is real!!!!! If I don’t do this my day is dead, because I didn’t let Him live that DAY THROUGH ME!!!!!!!

     
  3. Steve Suffron

    August 14, 2009 at 7:26 am

    I think the “unchanging purpose of God’s nature” has to do with his being just–he keeps his promises and he will make everything right in the end. We do not have to fear this justice, because we have Jesus as our high priest/mediator.

     

Leave a Reply

 
